“The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian's life of faith.”

(CCC 1210)

The sacraments are chosen instruments of divine power given to us by Christ. The exact definition of a sacrament is: “an outward sign instituted by Christ to give grace." There are seven sacraments of the Catholic Church: Baptism, Reconciliation, Eucharist (Holy Communion), Confirmation, Matrimony, Holy Orders, and the Anointing of the Sick.  When we participate in them worthily, each provides us with graces—with the life of God in our soul. In worship, we give to God that which we owe Him; in the sacraments, He gives us the graces necessary to live a truly human life.

The sacraments can be broken into the 3 categories below:

Sacraments of Initiation

Sacraments of Healing
Anointing of the Sick

Sacraments of Service
Holy Orders
Holy Matrimony

“So then, brothers and sisters, stand firm and hold fast to the traditions that you were taught by us, either by word of mouth or by our letter.”